Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Strange Kinda Woman

Tuesday, May. 27, 2003

Yet another holiday weekend.

Saturday Old Annie and I went out in search of lunch and alcohol. We had our usual dilema.

'Where do you want to go?'

'I don't mind. You choose.'

So I headed into town, not really sure where I was going.

'I thought we were going into the country. You said we weren't going into town.'

'I said we didn't need to go into town. I didn't say we weren't going into town. Anyway I need to get a new pair of shoes.'

I drove to a retail park and I got a pair of shoes and Old Annie bought a couple of things to wear. This retail park happened to be near to a really nice pub that we'd been to a couple of times before. However they had changed the menu since we last went there and we found that Old Annie's favourite, a steak open sandwich with caramelized onions wasn't on it, and so we had a quick drink and went off to somewhere else to eat.

After lunch we had to do the grocery shopping. This was a big mistake. After a good lunch and a beer all I wanted was a nice snooze, not a hour in that hell hole.

On Sunday we decided that we really had to do something about the front garden that was going out of control. I spent the best part of the morning on it, and after lunch we took some rubbish to the tip and then, you've guessed it, we went to the pub. It's getting so that we can't go out of the house together for anything without calling in a some pub or other. This one was in Stock, a nearby village. We sat in my favourite kind of garden, the Beer Garden, but our relaxing drink was spoilt by some loud mouth at the next table who couldn't shut up about all the places he'd visited in the world. If it's so great there why don't you go now.

There was still plenty of stuff to do in the garden on Monday, and now I've got a fine selection of cuts to my hands and forearms as a reward for all my work. And just to finish off the restful weekend I fixed the wardrobe in our bedroom. The back had come off it and it was leaning rather a lot. Of course we had to take out all the clothes (it's amazing how many blue shirts I've got-there must be a global shortage by now) and sort them out. Old Annie then decided that while we were at it we could rearrange the room, so once the wardrobe was fixed we had to move it from one side of the room to the other. What is it with women moving things around? I'm sure that in this recent round of moving stuff she's put things back to where they were before she moved them last time.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004