Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

The Sound Of Music

Tuesday, Jun. 03, 2003

Old Annie loves boybands like Boyzone and Westlife. Well someone has to I suppose. She's been after the new single by Westlife 'Tonight' for a few weeks and she finally got it on Saturday. Of course I had to immediately install it in the car CD player. Later that day I was giving a lift to my daughter EM and her friends and I casually mentioned the CD. EM said that it was already on their Greatest Hits CD which came out last year. The same Greatest Hits CD that's been in the car CD player since Christmas. I checked-yes there it was track 17. So Old Annie had the song all along. Derrr!

Another shock to do with CDs. My eldest son C buys quite a few, often by bands I've never heard of. As a caring parent I've always taken seriously my resposibility to educate my children in the finer points of popular music. So as soon as they could hear I've drilled 'Stairway to Heaven' into them. I recently copied my favourite Deep Purple tracks onto a CD for C, which he said he liked. This weekend he actually bought a Deep Purple CD. Ok it was only a cheap sampler but even so! I've had to lend him my new copy of 'Dark Side of the Moon' because it's a kind of CD/ DVD hydrid that my computer wouldn't copy. I don't think he liked it much on first hearing, but what do you expect- his favourite band is Nirvana. Not exactly the same genre.

I bought 'The Man Who' by Travis by the way. I know it came out about 4 years ago but that's right up to date for me.

Favourite song today: 'Why Does It Always Rain On Me?'-Travis

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004