Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

The Long and Winding Road

Tuesday, Apr. 15, 2003

I may have given the impression to some of you that I'd given up on beer in preparation for the Marathon. Well I'd certainly cut down alot, but not given it up completely. Old Annie and I found ourselves in the pub (The Army & Navy for those with local knowledge) Saturday luchtime, just as the match between Newcastle and Man Utd kicked off. How the hell did that happen? I was good-I drank two glasses of mineral water before I cracked and had a half of lager, only to keep Old Annie company as she still had loads of wine left.

So the day itself finally dawned. I was up about 30 minutes later than planned because guess what? I couldn't get to sleep for ages the night before. But I managed to catch the bus ok.

The first few miles of the race were good, lots of support from the crowds, giving high fives to the kids. I noticed that it was starting to get hot and I was starting to struggle by 10 miles. I had arranged to meet Old Annie near Canary Wharf around 17 miles, and I was totally knacked by the time I got there. I didn't know what side of the road she would be on and I kept scanning this sea of faces but I couldn't see her. Damn I thought I was going to be in trouble again, after last time.

I struggled on. I think I got a bit quicker near the end, knowing that it would soon be all over. My final time was 4 hours 36 mins, which was pretty close to what I expected, but slower than my previous time of 4 hours and 5 mins.

When I got home Old Annie was waiting. She and AM had gone to watch, but they didn't see me, so I wasn't in trouble this time. AM had had a great time shouting encouragement to the runners (shouting is something she's very good at), so they didn't have a wasted journey.

Old Annie kept saying how proud she was of me for doing it- I was raising money for her school- but my hero status didn't last long. Yesterday I took the day off to recover but she had me out DIY shopping and last night I was hanging curtain rails.

I don't feel too sore today, except when I get up from sitting I have to say 'Oh fuck' under my breath, and my shoulders are sore from a bit of sunburn.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004