Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Gangsters

November 13, 2002

I'm a research chemist, as you may know. Having worked as a research chemist for several years now and at different places I have met many other chemists. Every single one of them (and I include myself in this) is a little strange. Why is this? Maybe it's the small amounts of chemicals that we are exposed to, or maybe it's because we tend to do most of our chemistry on our own, without much contact with others.

I don't know about you, but usually there's a song playing in my head. This is particularly so when I'm working in the lab. Often the song is something I've heard on the radio or listened to on the CD player while driving to work in the morning. Take this morning for instance. Due to an accident on the M25 the roads were very busy and I played a CD of old ska music (including the original version of 'The Tide Is High'). I expected my brain to be primed up to play 'Gangsters' by the Specials all day, but no. Something else was already there and refusing to be dislodged. As I was working on a hydrogenation reaction this morning I found myself merrily humming 'Complicated' by Avril Lavigne! This is not my choice, I hasten to add. It's an ok song, except that it's now been adopted as AM's getting-ready-for-school song that she plays on repeat for about 40 minutes every morning, while doing her hair/make-up and what not. So now even in the sanctity of work I'm not safe from being brain-washed by teenage culture.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004