Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Running Up That Hill

Friday, Nov. 29, 2002

Last night at the club where I go running it was the annual winter handicap race. How it works is this: everyone is given a handicap time depending on their abilty-the faster the runner the longer the time. The slowest person starts first and therefore their handicap time is zero. The runners start off depending on their time (mine was 6.5 minutes after the slowest runner) and in theory if the times are correct everyone should finish together. So how come when I was only about 1/4 of the way round was I passed by the eventual winner, whose handicap time was obviously completely wrong. I managed to pass 3 slower people on my way round the 3.5 mile course, but I was overtaken by lots of faster people especially near the end. As a result I finished a lowly 27th out of about 30. But my time was much faster than my expectation, so I benefitted from the competition. At the end everyone was standing round in the cold night air steaming like racehorses- it's a good job no one pulled a muscle or we would have had to put them down.

Favourite song of the moment: Won't Get Fooled Again-The Who.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004