Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Jerusalem

Tuesday, Jan. 14, 2003

I'm back at work today. Yesterday I had a day's compassionate leave for my grandmother's funeral. It was held in a small Anglo-Saxon church in a village called Howe, a few miles from Norwich. My grandmother and her many siblings lived there when they were children so my mother thought it would be fitting that the grave should be in the church yard there. Two of my grandmother's brothers are also buried there.

Although the weather had turned milder over the weekend it was cold waiting in the churchyard for the hearse to arrive. As the oldest of 12 grandchildren I followed the coffin into the church along with my mother and her three brothers.

Inside the church it was about 5 degrees colder than it was outside. The organist was a little old woman of about 85. The first hymn was 'Jerusalem', a favourite of my grandmother, and also one of my favourites, although I don't think my grandmother was familiar with Emerson, Lake and Palmer's version. Just as the first chords were being played there was a momentary power cut. (This was a sign, but we didn't realise it at the time). The old organist didn't seem very familiar with Jerusalem either. What she played didn't seem to bear any resemblance to the tune as most people know it, with result that it was difficult to know when to sing each line. The first verse was a complete shambles, held loosely together by the vicar's singing. The rest of the congregation obviously decided that during the second verse they would try to ignore the demonic noises coming from the organ and follow the vicar's lead. Even so not everyone finished at the same time. Thank God there are only two verses! Once the singing had ground a halt the organ played a few more random notes and finally gave in. This woman had been playing organ at that church for 60 years- you'd think that by now she would know how to play 'Jerusalem'. Everyone stared resolutely in front, not daring to look sideways for fear of laughing at what was to be a sombre occassion. The remainder of the service went all right, and the second hymn seemed to have a recognisable melody.

Favourite song at the moment: Miss You- the Rolling Stones

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004