Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

New Year's Day

Sunday, Jan. 05, 2003

The rumours of my demise from Diaryland are grossly exagerated.

So, my little sweet peas, did you have a good Christmas/ New year break? Mine was pretty good, thanks for asking. The most unusual thing about it was that we only spent around 14 hours at home between Christmas Eve and New Year's Day. After delivering the cat to the Kitty hotel we set out for Yorkshire, and amazingly it was probably the quickest we've ever got there. There seemed to be very little traffic and the weather was very mild for the time of year. We stayed at Annie's sisters. My brother-in-law is also a runner, only much keener than me and we hadn't been there very long before I was dragged out to do some interval training. This was nothing compared to what was to come. The day after Boxing day we went on a 18 mile run which his club has every year. It was pretty obvious that it was going to take me all day to complete it so I managed to be excused the full 18 miles and I got away with doing only about 10 miles, which was more than enough considering my total lack of fittness. We left Yorkshire on the Saturday and went home, before setting out again for my mother's in Norfolk on the Sunday morning. On New Years eve Old Annie and I went out for a few drinks, promising my mother that we'd be back in plenty of time for midnight. As it happened we didn't quite make it. We were running the last 100 yards or so just as midnight struck, and fireworks started going off. Old Annie staggered down the garden path with her shoes in her hands. We finally got home for good on New Year's Day and I was back at work on Friday 3rd.

Favourite Song of the Moment: Highway Star-Deep Purple.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004