Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Home on the Range

Tuesday, Feb. 04, 2003

Last Thursday evening saw a rather heavy fall of snow in southern England. So what you say. But this is England- we haven't quite got used to the idea that it might snow in winter. So the whole place was chaos.

On Friday morning Old Annie put on the radio to find out if her school was closed. The list of schools that were closed went on for ages, but Old Annie's wasn't mentioned. The school that the kids go to was closed, so Old Annie shouted the joyful news up the stairs that school was closed and you can stay in bed. At this they both came storming down the stairs like they were on fire. TBG is ok at getting up, but AM hates school and it would be easier to shift a whale than get her up in the morning. But with no school she's up and dressed in seconds. Old Annie and I went to the car and start digging it out of the snow drift when we heard that her school is closed after all. So that just left me to go to work. I wasn't looking forward to spending 2 hours or more on a 13 mile journey only to be told on arrival that I could go home early because of the weather.

I couldn't decide what to do, but my mind was made up when I heard that the road that I was to go on was closed. There's nothing like an unexpected day off when you're not ill. It was great. I really enjoy my job but it's nice to be able to do other stuff sometimes. I got some DIY stuff done. Read the paper. Watched a crappy play on the TV. Played pool and snooker on the computer. Generally chilled out. But after a while I got a bit bored.

On Monday when I went to work I found that I was right not to go in on Friday. A few brave people had made it only to be sent home again almost straight away. Suckers!

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004