Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Fly Like An Eagle

Monday, Mar. 10, 2003

This weekend I went to my mother's alone. This meant I could have something of a Deep Purple festival on the way. It's 100 miles and takes about 2 hours, and I just managed to fit in all the tracks I wanted to hear, which were taken from 'In Rock', 'Fireball' and 'Machinehead'. That's not very surprising if you know anything about DP as all the best stuff comes from those albums. Of course I played them uber loud, so I was rather shell shocked when I arrived. I had an idea. There's a slow solo on 'Fools' that sounds like a cello. I was thinking I could easily learn to play it and maybe speed it up a bit, and also have a look at the structure of it. I still don't really understand the connection between key, chords and melody.

Anyway the rest of the weekend was fairly tame. I actually managed to do a bit of running on Saturday night, only 7.5 miles, but it's better than nothing.

On Sunday we went to an aviation museum near Norwich airport. The highlight was the Vulcan bomber. We got talking to a guy who was restoring a Lightning jet that used to be in the Saudi airforce, but ended up in a scrap yard in Portsmouth. It made the plastic kit plane that we'd just bought look rather pathetic. It's a good job Old Annie wasn't with us. Her ex was in the RAF and she hates anything to do with planes.

Some good news. My daughter E has decided that she doesn't want a drumkit for her birthday after all. It's a good job I haven't got her one yet then isn't it? I could have spent a small fortune on it only for her to fall out with her mates and the whole band thing go down the pan, so I've had a lucky escape. She should stick to singing.

Not reading any books at the moment and I don't really have a favourite song either-watch this space though.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004