Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Sweet Suburbia

Monday, Sept. 29, 2003

Sweet Suburbia

The weekend. If you've already an account of one of my weekends then this will have no surprises.

Friday night we went to the pub to watch TBG's team Arsenal play Newcastle. I was on call so I couldn't over-indulge myself with beer.

Saturday Old Annie and I went into town, did a little shopping and had lunch in a pub. I got a bit carried away in a record shop and came out with 4 CD's. At least I'll have something different to listen to in the car.

The biggest drama of the weekend didn't involve me. AM's friend J lives a few doors away. Last year J's family went on holiday to Spain and took AM along too. J's uncle, aunt and cousins went as well. Just to put you in the picture the uncle is J's mum's brother. J's parents had a big row a few weeks ago, but everything seemed ok. Until Saturday. J's 2 younger sisters came to the door looking for her. One of them was in tears. I told them that J and AM were babysitting at another neighbour's house. About half an hour later AM and J came back (with the 2 children they were looking after). It turned out that J's father was having an affair with the aunt, and they were going off together. J was in a terrible state, and she had these 2 young kids to look after for the night. Old Annie was thinking of letting them all stay at ours, but I thought it wouldn't be good if the mother of these 2 kids came home and found them gone, so AM went and stayed the night to keep J company.

Sunday morning was spent painting the garden fence-well painting about a third of it before I ran out of creosote.

Sometimes it's good to have a drab, wretched life.

Soundtrack: 'Of One Skin'- The Skids

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004