Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Music and Museums

Thursday, Oct. 23, 2003

Lunchtime. Corned beef and pickle sandwiches, coffee and some chocolate. (Not the first today either).

This week I started a synthesis for which I�ve been working out the procedures for the last few weeks. I find the actual syntheses very stressful. There�s loads to remember, and one small mistake can mean that very expensive material is lost, the client doesn�t get their compound, and the company doesn�t get paid. Everything is going alright at the moment.

I usually have some song or other that is my current favourite. At the moment I seem to have three. There�s �Forbidden Colours� by Sylvian/ Sakamoto, �Are Friends Electric?� by Tubeway Army, and �Song to the Siren� by This Mortal Coil. The Tubeway Army song seems quite easy to play. I think it would suit a heavy guitar treatment, although the lyrics are a bit 80�s. I was trying to work it out last night, but was distracted by TBG who was listening to The Darkness on headphones at the PC in the next room. God The Darkness are so famous now even my mother�s heard of them, although to be fair they do come from Lowestoft (at least 2 of them do anyway) which is like 5 miles away from her.

Not many famous people come from that part of the world, Great Yarmouth in Norfolk. Dickens wrote �David Copperfield� in a local hotel. Anna Sewell (Black Beauty) used to live there- her house is now a teashop. Billy Fury made a film in the town in the 60�s. Lord Nelson visited the town several times, and was born in north Norfolk. What famous people come from your home town?

The association with Nelson in Yarmouth is everywhere. He is remembered in the names of several roads and pubs (Nelson, Trafalgar, Admiralty). There�s a monument similar to the one in Trafalgar Square in London, except this one has Britannia on it. There�s a museum, which funnily enough I visited at the weekend with mother and my son S. To be honest there�s not a lot in there- mostly paintings and plates commemorating his famous battles. Some of the collection is in an upstairs room so because S is in a wheelchair we had to use the lift. Now most lifts are metal boxes. This was just a platform, and you could see the walls moving beside you if you understand me. So we looked at the stuff upstairs and went back to the lift. Nothing happened when we pushed the button. We pushed every other button. Nothing. S was having a good laugh by now- this sort of situation is hilarious to him. In the end we had to go and get the guy at the desk to come and look at the lift. He couldn�t get it to work either, so we had to take S out of his chair, carry it downstairs, then go back and carry him down.

Did you notice how I started off talking about music, then got on to famous people that come from my home town, then onto Nelson and the story about the broken lift in the museum? Wow, what a great diarist I am, not.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004