Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

The Art of Parties.

Tuesday, Dec. 02, 2003

I think TBG has cottoned on to the fact that 'shopping' for Old Annie and I, especially on a Friday night always involves a trip to the pub. As we went out of the door he said:'See you in 4 hours'.

But our trip to the pub was time well spent. Not only did we discover a new pub very much to our liking but we also sorted out the song that Old Annie's class will present at the school's Xmas play. AM suggested the Xmas Alphabet, but when we found the words they were a bit out of date, so over a drink Old Annie and I made up new ones. Then we thought let's go mad and change the tune as well. We decided on the tune from Jingle Bells, because that seemed to fit quite nicely. I promise I'll get the words posted here soon then you can all sing it.

Saturday was another Norfolk weekend, sans Old Annie. So my son C and I went out on Saturday night in search of some decent live music. You'd think that a place only a few miles from the home town of The Darkness would have a great scene, but no. We chose a band at random, mainly because the pub was only a mile away and again it was mostly Irish folk played on accoustic guitars. OK in it's own way but not what we were looking for. Highlight (apart from a gorgeous barmaid) was a great version of David Gray's 'Babylon'.

My other son S is coming up to 13 this week, so the ex had organised a party for him, at one of these indoor playground places. A few of his friends from school were there, each with some kind of disability. 2 had cerebral palsy, same as S. One girl was laid on the floor most of the time because she's got a bad hip and needs an operation. The ex's new husband was really good taking the disabled kids on the slide. I took S up a couple of times, but he's so heavy now it nearly killed me.

Driving back I played a Rolling Stones CD and nearly lost my voice trying to keep up with the 'woo woo's' in 'Sympathy For The Devil'. So that was that, another weekend survived.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004