Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Dulce et Decorum Est.

Tuesday, Feb. 17, 2004

Dulce et Decorum Est.

Wow is it really nearly 2 weeks since I updated?

Saturday morning-Valentine's Day- Old Annie and I shared a bottle of Champagne in bed, plus some posh chocs that she'd saved from Christmas. She got me a couple of CD's as presents, I got her a new nightdress. I also got some silly Purple Ronnie books, including the Karma Sutra, that amused us.

We went and had lunch in town, and did a bit of shopping. I'd arranged to take her out in the evening. She wanted to go out for a meal in the evening, but I always think on an occassion like that you don't get the same service as you would on a normal day, so we ate at lunch time instead.

I was determined not to tell her where we were going in the evening until we got there (I'm terrible at keeping secrets and surprises), but she'd more or less worked out that it was the theatre or cinema. It was the theatre, a small amateur theatre, that we often said we'd like to go to some day, but never got round to it. I'd been there a few times in my single days.

We had plenty of time so we went into a nearby pub for a quickie, and there was a poster for the play on display. The play was about the First World War, 'Not for Heroes' by Stephen MacDonald. Old Annie didn't seem too happy about this. What she didn't know was that the play was really about Wilfred Owen and Siegfried Sassoon, the war poets. Old Annie had studied war poetry whilst doing her degree, I think, and Owen was her favourite.

Favourite song of the moment: Tarot Woman-Rainbow.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004