Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Down By The River

Wednesday, May. 19, 2004

I think I made the right decision not to go to the retreat on Thursday, but to drive up on Friday morning. Those not travelling on the coach were allowed home early so I went and picked up Old Annie and we went on a fruitless search for a country pub that was open at 4 in the afternoon. We eventually went and had a drink in town. We went home fed the kids and then went out for a curry at a place we�d been wanting to go to for ages, but had never got round to it.

On Friday morning I left at 6.40 to drive to Norwich, and got there just in time for the start of the day�s activities. It was just going off in teams and trying to identify ways in which the company can prosper. Some of the people who had stayed over the night before had bad hangovers and didn�t really contribute much.

On Saturday night my eldest C and I went out as usual in search of live music, only this time my daughter Em and her thirtysomething friend JK tagged along. We went to The Brewery in Oulton Broad, but they were enforcing an Over 18s only policy so the kids couldn�t get in. So we went to a nearby pub where an aging rock band were playing. They did several rock standards by the likes of Queen, Black Crowes, Free, quite similar to a band that I�ve seen a few times in Chelmsford.

Back in Chelmsford on Monday Old Annie and I went for an evening walk. Now it�s light for most of the evening I thought we could into the country. We went down by the river and followed a route that I�ve been on several times with the running club. At one point the route comes to a lane which is crossed by a stream, and there�s a small bridge over the ford. As we got there a car drew up. In it was a middle-aged man. Just past the ford was another car parked, and it�s owner, another middle-aged man was hanging about the lane. After a couple of minutes we decided to go. I think it was pretty obvious to both Old Annie and I what was going on. The funny thing was we were thinking excactly the same thing a few minutes before- that this would be a great place for outside sex, however it seems we were beaten to it by 2 gay men. Now I know what they meant when they said it was bandit country.

Favourite at the Moment: Exiles-King Crimson

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004