Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Cadence and Cascade

Monday, Jul. 05, 2004

On Friday evening we loaded up the car, including AM's boyfriend, and drove up to Skegness to see Old Annie's dad and step mum. We always follow the same routine on these visits. So we arrived at about 9.30 and once the hellos were said we all started to leave to go to the pub for a drink. But once outside my father-in-law noticed that water was pouring from the over flow from the toilet. There was a leak in the cistern so we decided to turn the water off and try to fix it next day. I knew what to do because I'd had the same thing happen to our toilet at home. Just turning the water off took ages because the tap was stiff, but we did it.

Next morning I took him to the local diy shop and we got the replacement parts and after much effort eventually got it fixed. Everyone gave a sigh of relief. It's amazing how you take something like running water for granted. We had to keep turning the water back on when we needed it.

I got 2 CD's at the weekend. I had ordered 'McDonald and Giles' from Amazon, and while out shopping in Skegness I bought 'In the Wake of Posidon' by King Crimson. McDonald and Giles were in the original King Crimson line-up that recorded 'In the Court of the Crimson King'. Then they left. Then King Crimson started recording the next album 'In The Wake of Posidon' and Mike Giles agreed to play drums on that. Then he recorded 'McDonald and Giles' with Ian McDonald. So I've just bought 2 albums which were recorded in the same year including the same drummer. I had no intention of buying 'In The Wake of Posidon' but because it was there and KC CD's are difficult to get I couldn't resist.

We drove back yesterday afternoon and arrived in time to see the Greeks triumph in the football.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004