Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

He Knows All The Chords.

Thursday, Jul. 15, 2004

The other week mother and I took my youngest son Sean to a fete. One of the attractions was 'Guitar George' who turned out to be about 14 but was playing nothing newer than 1965! He was a new Hank Marvin. How out of date can you be? But he was a good guitar player and I reckon in a few years time he'll rebel and start playing heavy metal. I hope so anyway. Of course you've all realised that the name comes from 'The Sultans of Swing' by Dire Straits. I know I didn't need to tell you that, butI did just for completeness.

Last Saturday night older son Craig and I went to check out a band, and found an unlikely trio. Never did find out what they were called. The drummer was a girl with blonde streaks and glasses; the bassist was a tall gangly guy with extremely long hair tied in a ponytail, (more like a horsetail), playing the biggest bass guitar I've seen; and the lead guitarist was a short guy who looked like he should be behind the counter of the local bank. He was obviously mad on Hendrix and did a few of his songs with long solos in which he pulled a lot of silly faces like he was having teeth pulled when he got to high notes. They finished with 'When a Blind Man Cries' a bluesy Deep Purple b-side, which was sung by a guy who they knew from the audience. Pretty good taste methinks.

Favourite at the Moment: Cadence and Cascade-King Crimson

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004