Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

The River

Wednesday, Apr. 02, 2003

Maybe it's all this training for the marathon, but my immune system appears to be in great shape. I said last time that I'd come down with a cold over the weekend. Well I didn't feel too bad on Monday so last night I decided to risk running again. I thought if I have breathing problems then I can just walk back and leave it a little longer. But I felt great. I did my usual 2 hour route around the town and I was well ahead of myself by the time I'd done half of it. So I extended it a bit and in the end I was out nearly 2 1/2 hours. Tonight I'll get a map out and try to work out how far I went. Sometimes I just drive round the route to work out how far it is, but this route has a large section on footpaths down by the river, and I can't drive my car down there can I? It's strange how your perception of time and distance changes. At the beginning of my training I was running only 2.6 miles at a time. Now that distance seems so short, it's not worth getting dressed up for. I hope once I've done the marathon I don't do what I've done previously. Nothing. Old Annie said the other day that after my last marathon 2 years ago that I didn't get out of my chair in front of the TV for 2 months. I tend to rest on my laurels if that's the right phrase. Rather than try to build on the achievement, I laze around doing nothing, except drink too much.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004