Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

On The Ball City

Wednesday, May. 14, 2003

Yesterday I drove up to Norwich to attend my youngest son's annual school review. The journey was another opportunity to deafen myself with my favourite CDs played uberloud. I had quite a sore throat by the time I got there from all the singing/shouting.

My son seems to have made reasonable progress, given the circumstances. After the review meeting I gatecrashed his PE lesson and then stayed while he had lunch. One of the older kids had a voice synthesiser, which sounded exactly like Stephen Hawking. My son hasn't got one of those, probably because if he had one the first he'd say is 'Fuck off' to his mother. Well I hope he would anyway.

I didn't go straight back but drove into 'The City' for lunch. Norwich is a strange place really. A reasonable sized city with no other large towns for at least 50 miles in any direction. It's no wonder the locals call it (with their quaint rustic accents-I've got it too) 'The City' as though it's the only one anywhere. I had a spot of lunch and a beer, which I enjoyed even more by thinking about other people who were at work at that time!

The journey back was pretty uneventful. I arrived at about 4.30pm. The best thing about the whole day was that I wasn't in any pressure to get there by a certain time or to get back. That's never the case usually.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004