Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

In the City

Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2003

IN THE CITY

On Friday evening I took part in a 5 mile race, organised by my running club. I was expecting to do between 40-45 minutes. In fact I almost got under 40 minutes, so that was very pleasing. What wasn't so good was having wait ages to be served in the pub afterwards, while still in my running gear and sweating like a pig.

Old Annie stayed at home this weekend to write school reports, while I took the gruesome twosome up to Norfolk. My mum wasn't feeling very well on Saturday, so I escaped being told how to do every last little thing with my son S. C and S and I went shopping in Norwich. C was going to buy me some T-shirts for Fathers' Day, but then I saw this great book about Punk Rock for just �7, down from �35, so he got me that, AND a T-shirt. Lucky old me.

Mother was feelng better on Sunday and made up for lost time with the treating me like a 6 year old stuff that I normally endure. We took S on the beach in the morning, and then we went (with C) to see my dad. My father, his partner and my mother, all worked at the same factory years and years ago. So they started getting all nostalgic about the place and people who worked there. This meant absolutely nothing to the boys and I, so we just sat there like idiots waiting for home time.

As I said Old Annie stayed home for the weekend report writing. Monday she had a day off for report writing, so because she'd got most of it done we were able to go out together for the day. We decided to go to Cambridge which is about 40 miles away to see the 'dreaming spires', or is that Oxford? The old colleges are quite spectacular, particularly Kings. We had a drink in the very pub frequented by Crick and Watson, who sound like they should be a firm of solicitors, but were actually the guys who deduced the structure of DNA. Of course many other famous scientists went to Cambridge, like Isaac Newton who got drunk one day, fell down some stairs and thus discovered gravity. Most of Monty Python went there as did Pink Floyd and Nick Drake. Old Annie didn't know there was a river in Cambridge- er duh it's got BRIDGE in it's name, and of course what did she think Nick Drake was writing about in 'River Man'?

I'm afraid I wasn't a good enough scholar to take my degree at Cambridge.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004