Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Any Dream Will Do

Friday, Oct. 31, 2003

Any Dream Will Do

Yesterday I used a precious day�s holiday to go to London with Old Annie. We went to the National Gallery, but we were rather disappointed by it. They don�t have any Pre-Raphaelites there. But they do have loads of religious paintings by Raphael and his mates. Old Annie asked me just how many pictures of Jesus do you need? Which is true- there were so many we just ignored them after a while. We�ve got some Pre-Raphaelite pictures in our lounge- Millais� �Ophelia�, Waterhouses� �Lady Of Shallot�, and Hughes� �April Love�. Not the originals of course- they�re in the Tate. We should have gone to Andrew Lloyd Weber�s art collection, which is on show at the Royal Academy instead. He has several Pre-Raphaelites.

After the gallery we were starving. We found a pub and went to it�s basement bar. We had a drink each and looked at the menu, but we weren�t that impressed and we didn�t order anything but went somewhere else instead. Why am I telling you this mundane piece of information? Well in this basement bar there was one waitress who seemed to be doing everything-taking orders, bringing food, serving drinks. One couple were complaining that they didn�t get the right thing and they�d been waiting ages. Another couple both ordered steaks only to be told later by the waitress that they only had one left. The strange thing about this was that the more I think about this poor girl trying to cope on her own- I wouldn�t be surprised if she was doing the cooking as well- the more she seems familiar to me. I only visit London 2 or 3 times a year and I�ve certainly never been in that pub before, but I seem to recognise her. Maybe she worked somewhere else I�ve been to? Weird.

Anyway we had lunch and shared a bottle of Pinot Grigio, so we were a little bit drunk. We decided to find the theatre that was staging Joseph and his Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat, which is Old Annie�s favourite. Note Andrew Lloyd Weber again. We�ve seen it at Southend, but Old Annie wanted to see it in the West End. So we went to the theatre to see if on the off chance they had any tickets, which they did and in my semi-drunken over-generous mood I bought 2 for �35 each. Of course now we had about 4 hours to wait till it came on. We didn�t have a very good map and we kept getting lost, so we didn�t go anywhere else of interest. The show was pretty good- it�s the 3rd time I�ve seem it-with Colchester�s favourite son Darren Day in the lead. We eventually got home after 11pm, totally exhausted.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004