Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

It's Raining.

Monday, Nov. 24, 2003

It�s Raining

I�m glad to say that the weather was the only bad thing about this weekend. It rained non-stop from early Saturday until late Sunday.

However, what a great weekend I had.

My XXth birthday is fast approaching, so Old Annie said she was going to take me out for a treat on Saturday. I thought we were going to Preston to see the football (Preston v Norwich), but that wasn�t what she�d arranged at all. In fact we had a day in London, and this was revealed to me in a poem she�d written the night before that she gave me in bed accompanied by a glass of Carva.

First we went to the Royal Academy to see Andrew Lloyd Webber�s pictures, which are mainly Victorian including several fantastic Pre-Raphaelites. What really surprised us was that there were so many. The collection must be worth many millions.

After that we emerged into the rain and realised that England had won the Rugby World Cup! The clue was several groups of drunken people wandering the streets singing �Swing Low Sweet Chariot�. I admit I�m not a great fan of rugby, but I would have watched it if we�d had been at home.

We were near China Town, but just to be awkward decided we didn�t fancy Chinese cuisine, and ended up in a Caf� Uno, where we had a nice lunch, and of course washed it down with a bottle of Pinot Grigio, our favourite white wine.

Next we went to see �Les Miserables�, which we�d heard from several people was really good. One of Old Annie�s colleagues has seen it about a dozen times. It was great, but it helps if you know the story first since the plot moves really fast. Old Annie gave me the bare bones of the plot when we were on the Tube, so I knew roughly what was going on. One of the guys from S Club 7 was in it.

So that was Saturday. Incidentally the Preston v Norwich game ended in a 0-0 draw so we didn�t miss anything there. Stay tuned for the next exciting instalment which will follow almost immediately.

Stay on the green side now you hear.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004