Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Big Mouth Strikes Again.

Wednesday, Dec. 10, 2003

Big Mouth Strikes Again.

At my place of work most of the social interaction takes place in the tea room. I don't usually take my teabreaks and lunch in the tearoom- I stay at my desk, go on the net and read about the exciting lives of you guys. So I tend to miss the latest work gossip. Or even old work gossip for that matter.

Last night it was our Christmas party at a country club near Billericay. Before going to our tables for the meal everyone met in the bar. Old Annie and I were standing there- I was trying to make my first and only pint of lager last as long as possible- when one of my colleagues came over. I noted that he was on his own tonight, but he didn't really reply. He knew Old Annie vaguely because we'd all been out on a pub crawl in London a couple of years ago. He was accompanied by his wife then.

During the meal I went to the toilet and this colleague was there too. He told me that he and his wife had been separated for nearly TWO YEARS.

Oh well, maybe I should spend more of my breaks in the tearoom.

Another colleague of mine is also married to a teacher, and guess what they sat near us, so the two of them were talking teaching most of the night. After the food they put on a disco, but I just felt like sleeping. I didn't want to put anyone else to shame so I didn't dance. We were nearly the first to leave, but it was so foggy out we'd better get home. And anyway we'd left TBG and AM Home Alone (if 2 of them can be alone) and we were worried that we might not have a house to come home to.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004