Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Tell Me Why

Wednesday, Jan. 21, 2004

Last we did interval training in running. This involves running quite fast ('efforts') for a short distance, then slowly ('recovery') for a shorter distance and repeating. So last night we did 1000m efforts, recovery, 600m efforts, recovery and so on.

I had no trouble doing this and I completed 3 circuits and could have easily done more. I was racing round with 2 girls who are both pretty good runners. There was a steady drizzle falling and so by the end of the session I was quite wet. When we got back to the clubhouse I discovered I had a bad case of runner's nipple, and there was a red patch on my T-shirt.

On Sunday morning we did about 9 miles quite slow. Why did I find that so difficult? Why was I miles behind the others after only a few miles?

My only explanation is that I had a few beers on Saturday, not enough to get drunk, but obviously enough to affect my running ability. I'll have to do all my drinking after I've done a long training run.

Finished reading 'A Prayer For Owen Meany' by John Irving.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004