Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Half Cream

Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2004

My eldest son C and I went to a gig last Saturday night. We�d tried to go to the same place a few weeks ago, but we couldn�t find it. Although the gigs were listed in the local paper, they forgot to include the address. Anyway I eventually found where this place (The Brewery) was-and would you believe it used to be a brewery.

The band was called Half Cream , and very good they were too. They did a few of their own songs, but mostly covers of rock/punk/metal tracks. C reckons he knew most of the songs they did, but I only recognised one or two, including Darkness� �I Believe In A Thing Called Love�, which closed the first half.

In the second half they did older stuff like �Daytripper� by the Beatles, so an old git like me was catered for. Most of the audience were kids. At one point two girls obviously the worse for drink decided to �invite� us to dance, that is they tried to drag us onto the dancefloor. C obliged but I was content with my pint. At the very front of the audience there was a great deal of moshing, which got more violent as the gig progressed. I couldn�t help laughing, and I was amazed that no one ended up falling onto the stage because it was quite low. The band was getting a bit nervous too.

We�ll definitely try to get to the Brewery again, and I wouldn�t mind seeing the band again.

Favourite song: Smash It Up (Parts One and Two)-The Damned

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004