Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Music

Friday, May. 28, 2004

As you should know if you've been paying attention I'm heavily into King Crimson at the moment. (Aside:the latest series of Big Brother has just started and I can hear that silly cow Davina McCall getting all excited over the latest bunch of non-entities). I was familiar with the material from 1969-1974, but the next phase started in 1981 and I had never heard any of it. I had read several reviews that said that the album 'Discipline' was really good so I've ordered it from HMV- it was out of stock-demand was so high! but they're keeping me posted. In the local library the other day I found that they had a compilation CD containing several tracks from that era. So I hired it, put it in the car CD player and listened to some of it on the way home. First impressions: it's different from the prog rock stuff that came before it. If you know Talking Heads that will give you an idea-Adrian Belew was in Tom Tom Club. But after a few days I love it. It's still different from the early stuff but good. So I'm looking forward to receiving the CD whenever that may be.

Those of you who don't know Talking Heads/ Tom Tom Club won't know what the hell I'm on about, but hey do yourselves a favour and download 'Genius of Love'. Superb.

Have decided to definitely take guitar lessons- the local college is offering 25 one lessons for just over �100. That's not bad. It's on Tuesdays which clashes with running however.

If you're wondering what 'Thela Hun Ginjeet' means, it's an anagram of 'Heat in the Jungle'.

Favourite of the Moment: Thela Hun Ginjeet-King Crimson

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004