Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

My Young Man

Monday, Sept. 06, 2004

Apparently I�m cute, and this is not just Old Annie saying so this time. Although she frequently does, or words to that effect.

I'm thinking of collecting words that I can use here, to make it more interesting. So far I've got only one. Spiffing. What a spiffing word it is. Now all I need is a chance to drop it in.

The weather has turned hot again, just as the schools re-open. What great timing. Yesterday mother and I took Sean and one of my nephews to the beach. We went for a couple of dips in the sea. The water was take-your-breath-away cold, but once you got used to it, it was enjoyable. Carrying Sean in and out of the sea nearly killed me though, and also pulling the wheelchair over the sand was very hard work.

Driving back I listened to the wonderful Big George. He played a track (My Young Man) by a folk singer called Kate Rusby who I�ve never heard of before. It was really good and her work requires further investigation I think. So much music, so little money. I�m not sure yet, but she sounds like she might be a kind of female Nick Drake- except that she�s very much alive of course, and getting the recognition she deserves.

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004