Current|Older|Links|Photos|Profile|over25revue|Contact|Random|Design|Readers|Diaryland

Ouch times three

Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

If you guys in Alabama think you�ve got problems with Ivan the Terrible just thank your lucky stars that I�m not in your neighbourhood right now.

Ouch number one happened last Thursday evening when I was at the running club. I was running along talking to a girl who was telling me about her recent surfing trip to Cornwall when I ran into a bramble that was sticking out from a hedge. I had a scratch on my nose and on my cheek. Ouch! More embarrassing than painful.

Ouch number two wasn�t really an ouch at all. In our laboratory we each have a fumecupboard to work in. Each fumecupboard has a sash at the front, that is fitted with glass panels that slid across allowing access to the inside of the fumecupboard. Not very well explained I know. Google it if you really want to know. Anyway I managed to break one of the sliding glass panels on Friday afternoon. It broke like a car windscreen, into a thousand pieces but because it�s coated in a film it all held together, so it all held together. I had to stop work until the maintenance man came and fixed it. Another embarrassment, less of an ouch.

Ouch number three was yesterday. I couldn�t get a very good vacuum on my rotary evaporator so I decided that the rubber tubing needed changing. It was while I was doing this that I broke a piece of glass tubing and cut my finger. Quite badly. I was looking at the wrong finger thinking although it was hurting like buggery it wasn�t bleeding too badly. Then I noticed the right finger and my precious life blood gushing away. So I left the lab holding a piece of tissue to the cut and got a First Aider to help me. We were just running my finger under the cold tap when my boss came along the corridor with 2 visitors. He took them into the lab. Whether they noticed the pools of freshly spilt blood I�m not sure. No-one has said anything. Anyway standing at the sink I started to feel a bit faint so I had to go and sit at my desk, with my arm resting on the top of this very computer, holding a tissue to my finger. The First Aider guy was obviously worried by the colour I�d gone by now as he decided I�d better go home. I thought for a minute I was going to pass out. Hospital was even mentioned. Luckily the bleeding stopped, a plaster was applied and I was given a lift home.

Back in work today and one or two people seemed disappointed that I hadn�t at least lost a limb.

Favourite at the Moment: The Night Watch-King Crimson

waning | waxing

Last 5

I Can't Stand My Baby - Friday, Apr. 08, 2005
TCT - Thursday, Apr. 07, 2005
I really must..... - Tuesday, Apr. 05, 2005
A Series of Unfortunate Events - Monday, Jan. 03, 2005
Manic Thursday - Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004